It’s Been a While

It has recently come to my attention that I do in fact still have a WordPress account. The last blog was posted in 2009 or so.  In light of this reunion of blog-blogee, it’s a perfect opportunity to reminisce of long forgotten social media accounts. 

1) WordPress is obvious…because I already mentioned it. This account was created for a web cast class in college. I enjoyed the blogging and really don’t know why I stopped. 

2) The gothos88 Instagram account has actually been around for about 4 years or so. I didn’t get it at first, deleted the app, and made fun of the ones that actually use theirs. Recently I decided to give it another go and it is slowly becoming my weapon of choice over the social media conglomerate involving a codex of faces. 

3) Snapchat was fun for a few days. I find value in crossing social media platforms and Snapchat fits the bill. But those occasions are few and far between. 

Of course there are long forgotten social media accounts such as Vine, Foursquare, and Pinterest (or whatever). Looking back it has been a treat to see the social media landscape changing over time, such as trends rising and falling (coughs “MySpace”). Microsoft even offers a professional social media networking service via Microsoft Office 365 called “Yammer”. While I’m not sure of the productivity value of Yammer it is evidence that social media has soaked into almost every crevice of our culture. 

~ by Trelane on April 23, 2017.

Leave a Reply

 
