Fishing is Fun

This spring break I had nothing planned except for some yard work and a paper which I worked on Monday and Tuesday. Besides that I had nothing.

Then I went to church on Wednesday night and my plans for Thursday changed. There has been an older gentleman at church who has been bugging me to go fishing with him and I have been avoiding it like the plague. It’s not that he isn’t nice but what 20-year old wants to go fish with some bazillion-year-old hillbilly?

At church that night he asked me if I would go with him and with much reluctance I said yes since I had nothing better to do the next day. Keep in mind that I haven’t gone fishing in a long time. then he asked me if I had a fishing license and I said no. the he said “oh well just go down to Wal-Mart and get one they are only $7”.

Low and behold it ended up being $17.50 for a stupid piece of paper. By that time I was regretting the whole thing especially since I wasn’t sure how to get to his house. The next morning I called his house and his wife answered the phone in a grumpy voice which made me even more skeptical of the situation.

So I arrived around 9:00 a.m. and brought all of my fishing gear with me only to discover that I didn’t need it. He said we were catching Shell Crackers which are similar to Blue Gill. They live in shallow waters which means you don’t use a reel.

Then we climbed aboard his old fishing boat and went out into Lake Rosalie where there was a shallow spot of Lilly Pads. We counted 30 other fisherman there who were after the same kind of fish we were. He handed me a rod and some live bait (earth worms) then told me just to wait until they bite and snatch them out of the water.

After leaving my line in the water about 20 seconds or so, I felt a tug on the end of my line. I snatched it out of the water, took the hook out of its mouth and threw it in the bucket. We caught about 12 of them in the first 20 minutes of fishing. After being there for about two hours we decided to head back for some lunch.

His wife made us both vegetable soup which was really good, then we proceeded to gut the fish. I won’t get into any detail about that but I ended up bringing 5.5 pounds of fish fillets home that day. Between the two of us I counted 34 fish.

The experience was much better than I thought it would be. This elderly gentleman is a snowbird who goes back up to Kentucky during the summer months. I think he is away from his family and wanted some interaction with a grandson like figure in his life. he did have some great fish stories. Maybe it is weird that I spent half a day with an old man but I think it is important to make people happy in their old age. We might not like to listen to boring stories all the time but these people have wisdom which we can all learn something from if we just take the time to listen. I would be glad to go fishing with him again.

What is a Shell Cracker?

~ by Trelane on March 19, 2009.

3 Responses to “Fishing is Fun”

  1. Aww Trelane, Who knew you had a softer side 😛

  2. Good. I laughed out loud at “bazillion yer-old hillbilly.”

  3. I also laughed out loud at “bazillion yer-old hillbilly” too. Great Story, I enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

 
