Funeral Fiasco

This event is probably one of the most embarrassing events of my life.

In December 2007 my Granny passed away resulting in me missing all my final exams. We had to travel North Carolina for the funeral and for family time (mostly eating).  Immediately after the funeral was over we all hopped in our cars and got in line for the funeral procession.  First in line was the hearse, then was my former pastor, then was me, and my parents in another car behind me.

Since we were a big family, 5 of my cousins piled in my car with me to go to the grave site.  After leaving the funeral home, we drove through downtown and eventually the road became four lane.  In case you have never been in a funeral procession before, cars aren’t suppose to pass the procession even if it is four lanes out of respect for the deceased.

Well a bunch of cars decided to start passing us anyways.  In the passenger seat beside me was my cousin who is a dumb hillbilly, redneck hick who has been fired from Bi-Lo for steeling beer.  The windows of the car were down and my cousin proceeds to reach across me while yelling curse words at the top of his lungs, raising both middle fingers and sticking them out my drivers side window flicking off all the cars that were passing us. Seeing  this from the front or back made it look like the driver was the one signaling these cars.

Although I too was upset that they were passing us, looking forward at my pastor’s car in front of us he was glaring in the rear view mirror with the dirtiest look of disapproval on his face.  If that wasn’t enough looking  in my rear view mirror seeing my parents giving me a similar stare was just as bad.  I managed to avoid my pastor for the rest of the day in embarrassment.

~ by Trelane on February 12, 2009.

One Response to “Funeral Fiasco”

  1. This is funny Trelane! I seriously laughed so hard!
    ” In the passenger seat beside me was my cousin who is a dumb hillbilly, redneck hick who has been fired from Bi-Lo for steeling beer. ”
    Good stuff. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
